Startseite » Geography learning material » How many states does Germany have?

How many states does Germany have?

Germany has 16 federal states. In the name they are sometimes divided into the so-called “old” and “new” federal states. The old federal states refer to those federal states that existed before reunification with the former GDR and the “new” ones are those that were added.

These are the federal states

The federal states, 16 in number, differ in their size and number of inhabitants, sometimes massively. These are the federal states of the Federal Republic of Germany:

  • Bavaria,
  • Baden-Württemberg,
  • Hessen,
  • Saarland,
  • Thuringia,
  • North Rhine-Westphalia,
  • Saxony,
  • Saxony-Anhalt,
  • Bremen,
  • Berlin,
  • Schleswig-Holstein,
  • Rhineland-Palatinate,
  • Hamburg,
  • Brandenburg,
  • Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania
  • and Lower Saxony.

Federal states This is how the federal states are organized

The federal states manage themselves at state level. This means that they are each based on their own budget. It is therefore possible that some federal states are doing very well and have sufficient financial resources, while others are struggling with ailing schools and streets.

With the so-called solidarity surcharge, employees in the old federal states have been paying “start-up aid” to the new federal states since reunification to support them.

There are no limits

The federal states are freely linked to one another. Although there are borders and official national borders are also often marked and visible, e.g. B. on the Autobahn “Willkommen in Hessen”. Each federal state also uses its own marketing.

Yet the boundaries are physically non-existent.